Jake Tapper’s claim to be from the streets further endears him to me

ABC Newsman Jake Tapper had this exchange with Diane Sawyer:

DIANE SAWYER: And now, are you ready for Krimpet versus crumpet, the rematch? Yes, indeed. Yesterday, Jake Tapper said that the Queen might be serving the Obamas Krimpets. I jumped him. Jake, defend yourself.

JAKE TAPPER: Well, first of all, let me just say, these are crumpets. [Holds up crumpets.] All right? And now, I’ve learned my lesson. But, I- I’m not one of your fancy boys, Diane. I didn’t grow up in a governor’s mansion. I’m from the streets of Philadelphia. And in Philly- In Philly, we eat Tastykake Butterscotch Krimpets. So, frankly, I was thinking that was what the Queen was going to serve the President.

First off, Butterscotch Krimpets are amazing and the Queen should serve them.  Second of all, if going to a Main Line prep school counts as being from the streets, then call me Will Smith (or Jake Tapper, for that matter).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

