“But Sandra Lee’s food is collaborating with the enemy.”

If you missed Anthony Bourdain’s comments on all of the other cooking shows out there, you can and should read them here. Particularly of interest to me, as a Sandra Lee-hater (not her personally just her food/show/philosophy on entertaining) were his comments on Semi-Homemade:

She makes her audience feel good about themselves. You watch her on that show and you think, “I can do that. That’s not intimidating.” All you have to do is waddle into the kitchen, open a can of crap and spread it on some other crap that you bought at the supermarket. And then you’ve done something really special. The most terrifying thing I’ve seen is her making a Kwanzaa cake. Watch that clip and tell me your eyeballs don’t burst into flames. It’s a war crime on television. You’ll scream.

Oh, Tony, I’ve been talking about that Kwanzaa cake for ages!  I mean, I already loved you, but now I’ll stay true for years to come!  Little did I know, Tony would have more to say about Sandra this week in an interview with the LA Times:

You and [Food Network Semi-Homemade hostess] Sandra Lee share an affinity for booze. Would you consider drinking with her?
I wouldn’t consider it. I could see myself getting drunk with Rachael Ray. By all accounts, she’s pretty nice. My only problem with Rachael is the cooking part. Given she stopped cooking, I think we’d happily have shots of tequila together. But Sandra Lee’s food is collaborating with the enemy. It’s beyond compare. I couldn’t do it. It’s just wrong. That food is bad for the world. The exposure to it is dangerous.

So if you want to get drunk with me and Tony, let me know!  It’s going to be amazing… even if Rachael Ray comes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

